Baby Blankets & Growing Old

Napoleon-Dynamite-napoleon-dynamite-850553_1024_768
Who even Rollerblades anymore?!

Well, it is official I’m all grown up. I’ve been feeling this coming on for quite some time, but this last year has really started to make it sink in. First I started Medical School, where I felt infinitely older than my classmates as I realized that I don’t know what’s cool anymore. I have always been on the fringe of what was popular, but man, I feel like a Midwesterner that is about 10 years behind the times. A little like how the entire cast of Napoleon Dynamite looked like they were still in the late ’90s when the year was actually 2004. See, even my movie references are about 10 years behind the curve, damn it! All that aside, there were a few more events that really proved I was getting old. Like my best friend from High School getting married last fall, she is the first of my close friends from my childhood to tie the knot. Needless to say I was very excited for her. I made the drive out to Kansas City from Denver to party the night away with her on her bachelorette night. I also flew out to be in her wedding the weekend before my last Anatomy exam, lets just say that 6am flight home was rough! It was on these trips that I started to think about how much we have changed over the years and how we have become, gasp, adults! This leads me to the nail in the coffin, this friend then promptly became pregnant a good 3 months post wedding. Here I am thinking, “oh crap, I am old and my friends are having babies!” A little melodramatic, probably, but true. In the theme of being an old person the happy news of her pregnancy meant that I got to go all crafter crazy and start crocheting up a storm, like any elderly lady would!

As I mentioned the wedding was in Kansas City, that is because my friend left home at the age of 18 to go to college at the University of Kansas, RockIMG_0472 Chalk blah blah, or something like that. She met her future husband during her time in Lawrence Kansas, and so I thought it would be fitting to make a baby blanket in the KU school colors. As it turns out those colors are oddly close to the colors of the Colorado state flag… oops! So the entire time I was working on this blanket I kept getting complements from classmates on my “Colorado blanket.” I sold it to my friend as a representation of where she came from (Colorado) and where she went (KU), pretty clever if I do say so myself! This blanket is a nice and simple ripple pattern, I used four colors (Navy blue, golden yellow, cardinal red, and white) and alternated in a fairly simple pattern: 4 rows of blue, 2 rows of red, 2 rows of gold, 2 rows of red repeated 4 times and then trimmed in white. I really liked how this ripple blanket turned out, the wave it creates is clean and subtle.

IMG_0035The length of the blanket can be adjusted by adding more rows or changing up the pattern, it really is up to the maker! The pattern is as follows:


Supplies:

  • 2 skeins worsted weight
    • Color A: blue
  • 1 skein worsted weight:
    • Color B: Red
    • Color C: Golden Yellow
    • Color D: White
  • Size F Crochet Hook

Pattern:

Pattern:

ch 100 (or a multiple of 4+2)

Row 1: dc in the third chain from the hook. Dc in the next 4 stitches. Dc2tog, dc 2 tog. Dc in the next 4 stitches. *Work 2 dc into the next 2 IMG_0037stitches. Dc in the next 4 stitches. Dc2tog, dc2tog. Dc in the next 4 stitches.* End with 2 dc in the last chain. Ch 2, turn.

Row 2: dc in the first st (your ch 2 and your first dc are worked in the same stitch) and in the next 4 stitches. dc2tog, dc2tog. Dc in the next 4 stitches. *Work 2 dc into the next 2 stitches. dc in the next 4 stitches. dc2tog, dc2tog. dc in the next 4 stitches.* End with 2 dc in the last stitch. Ch 2, turn.

Repeat row 2 seventy-two times, or as many as you would like, changing colors depending on your pattern.

To edge the pattern, I did sc on the sides and then I did dc around the blanket once.


Of course I couldn’t just stop at one blanket, I also had to make a girly blanket since she is having a baby girl! I decided to go with a granny square blanket because the baby shower was looming and I can usually turn out squares at a pretty quick pace. I was able to churn out all 30 squares in a few weeks by making them them my weekly pub trivia sessions and while binge watching season 1 of True Detective.Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 5.52.47 PM My friend had not so subtlety mentioned to me that she wanted some things that wIMG_0374ere pink and gray. I was shopping for the perfect yarn when the idea struck me to do a play on ombre by transitioning from dark pink to light pink to light gray to dark gray. I decided to arrange the color blocks on the diagonal. For my pattern It worked out to being 6 squares of the dark colors and 9 squares of the light colors. The size can be adjusted if you’d like to make a bigger blanket. The squares are super simple, they are only 6 rows and the only stitches are double crochet, “long” double crochet, chain, and slip stitches.

IMG_0397


Supplies

All yarn is in the light weight (3)

  • 1 skein of each color
    • Dark pink
    • Light pink
    • Dark gray
    • Light gray
    • White
  • Size H hook

Pattern

Row 1: With your first color make a magic circle, ch 3 (counts as 1st dc) 2 dc in the circle ch 3 *work 3 dc in the circle ch 3* repeat 3 times then sl st in the top of the starting ch 3, pull the magic circle tight. You should have 4 sets of 3 dc with the ch 3 serving as the corners.

Row 2:  *ch 3 (counts as 1st dc) 1 dc in the corner space. dc in the first stitch skip a stitch dc in the 3rd stitch 2 dc in the chain 3 space* repeat three more times. sl st in the top of the 1st stitch of the row.

Row 3: *ch 3 (counts as 1st dc) 1dc in the corner space 3 dc, ch 1, skiIMG_0438p a space 3 dc, 2 dc in the chain 3 space, chain 3* repeat three more times.  sl st in the top of the 1st stitch of the row

Row 4: *ch 3 (counts as 1st dc) 1 dc in the corner space, 5 dc, ch 1, skip a space, 5 dc, 2 dc in the chain 3 space, chain 3* repeat 3 more times. sl st in the top of the 1st stitch of the row.

Row 5: *ch 3 (counts as 1st dc) 1 dc in the corner space, 7 dc, ch 1, skip a space, 7 dc. 2dc in the chain 3 space, ch 3* repeat 3 more times. sl st in the top of the 1st stitch of the row. Cut the yarn and weave in the end.

Row 6: SwitcIMG_0432h colors (to white) by joining the yarn with a sl st to a ch 3 space, *ch 3 (counts as the first dc) 1 dc in the ch 3 space, 9 dc, 1 long dc (insert hook into the ch 1 space 2 rows below and pull through), 9 dc, 2 dc in the chain space, ch 3* repeat 3 times. sl st in the top of the 1st stitch of the row. Bind off the yarn and weave in the end.

To join the squares I used what I like to refer to the zipper method, this blog explains it very well (http://craftpassion.com/2014/06/flat-slip-stitch-granny-join.html/2), but you can just join it with a simple whip stitch.


I personally think both blankets were a success! My friend was happy that her husband would be seeing one KU item from the shower. I liked the ombre one so much that I plan on making myself a version of the granny square blanket at some point in the future. Hopefully you all will too, happy crocheting!

Leave a Reply

